A Simple Night Routine

Last week I shared a simple makeup routine (here) with you guys for days at school or when you’ve woken up late and need to save all the time you can, something that happens to me fairly often. Many of you found the routine helpful and enjoyed finding new ways to shorten your time getting ready in the mornings, which I’m very happy about! For this post, though, I’m going to talk about the flip side of the morning makeup routine–taking it all off at night. During the school year, days are long and nights are late. Your energy is depleted and at the end of the day, when the homework may or may not be completed, all you want to do is fall into bed and sleep. In these moments of sleepiness and stress, I am often guilty of not taking off my makeup. My skin is clear and sometimes dry, so I don’t breakout badly. However, random pimples pop up a day or two after my night of sleeping with makeup on. So, to avoid this problem and keep my skin healthy, I developed a simple night routine that only requires two steps (sounds pretty easy, right??) and I am pleased to say that for the last couple of weeks, I have stuck with it and I love the results!

The two-ish products required for this routine are makeup removing wipes and coconut oil. That’s it! Of course, you can vary this routine a bit. For example, I often use Pond’s Cold Cream Cleanser with the wipes to help remove eye makeup. However, you only have to perform two steps at night to get your face clean and soft.

Step 1. Remove makeup with a makeup wipe (use some makeup remover cream if needed). I used to stop here. After all, the makeup is removed, right? Wrong. Makeup wipes often leave some makeup residue on your face. It’s hard to see, but it’s there. A lot of people use a toner after this step to remove the rest of the makeup and then apply a moisturizer of some sort, or perhaps they use a face wash. I’m going to combine these products in the next step, though, because when it’s late and I’m tired, I’m too lazy to do extra (I’m not the only one…right?).equate wipesponds cleanser

Step 2. Rub coconut oil all over your face and wipe off any excess. I usually put some coconut oil onto a washcloth and wipe it all over my face. A little goes a long way with this stuff, though, so don’t go crazy or you’ll be an oily mess. Remember, you can always add more! The coconut oil will take the rest of your makeup off AND moisturize your face all night as you sleep, so you’ll wake up with super soft skin. However, if you’re worried about whether coconut oil is right for your skin type or not, here is a great article to give you some information that should help you figure that out. If you can’t use coconut oil because of your skin type, then I would suggest finding another oil product that you can use. Oil is great for cleansing and moisturizing!

coconut oiloil on cloth

How simple was that?? And the best part is that none of these products are expensive at all. I get a package of Equate makeup remover wipes (40ct) for $3.48, LouAna’s Coconut oil (14oz) for $3.98, and the Pond’s Cold Cream Cleanser (3.5oz) was about $4. The coconut oil and the cream cleanser (if you want to use a product like this) will also last a long time because you don’t need to heap on the product for it to work. It really is a quick and simple routine that is also very inexpensive, plus it’s good for your skin! I love waking up to amazingly soft skin every morning and after doing this consistently for a couple weeks, I can say that it’s good for your skin and won’t cause your face or pillow to be oily.

What do you guys think of this routine? Do you know of any other amazing products that simplify the nightly routine? Let me know in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “A Simple Night Routine

  1. I’m not a fan of makeup wipes anymore as I much prefer using cotton pads & Micellar Water now, but I can see how they are very practical. I don’t use coconut oil often but I do take advantage of it if I’ve got on waterproof eye makeup as it’s amazing for that x

    Beauty with charm

    Like

    • I’ve noticed that lots of people seem to using micellar water. It might be good to switch out my wipes for a bit and try it out! I often have a hard time finding wipes that don’t sting my eyes. I assume micellar water does not?

      Like

    • I can’t say for sure about everyone’s skin type, but what I do know is that putting oil on your face can actually help oily skin! Basically, applying an oil, like coconut oil, will help the skin stay hydrated and provide it with certain nutrients, so the skin stops trying to produce it all on its own. Cleansing your face with an oil will also help dissolve the oil already on your face (think about how water and oil don’t mix, but oil and oil will). I’ve read where it has helped to clear up persistent acne as well! It seems backwards when you think about putting oil on already oily skin, but it can really help lower the amount of oils that your skin produces.

      Like

  2. I’ve never even thought of using coconut oil to remove makeup/ moisturize! Currently I use Nivea’s Micellar water to remove makeup, then wash my face, then moisturize!
    I’m a tad unlucky though and inherited a pretty bad complexion. I wish it could be that simple, although it’s not too much work anyway 🙂

    Thanks for sharing1

    http://www.lindseyginge.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

