Nail Polish Storage Drawers–DIY

If you’re anything like me, then you love to have your nails painted, you own way too much polish already, and yet you still find an excuse for that new color that you’re convinced is so different from anything else you already have. But even if you don’t care about nail polish, I’m sure there’s something with which you can share this sentiment! And because we all have too much of something, organization is key. That’s why last summer, I made a DIY organizer for all of my nail stuff, and boy, has it helped me a ton. I’m going to share my organization project with you guys because I know that we all need a little “organization inspiration” from time to time.

Here are the supplies you’ll need:

1 set of plastic drawers (like this, which has organization on the top as well!)

1-3 spray paint colors of your choice (2 of each color you choose) (I chose 2 colors: light gray and turquoise)

Primer

Chalkboard Spray paint for labels

Spray Adhesive

3 large pieces of scrapbooking paper

Fine grit sandpaper (220 or higher)

Drawer Organizers (like this) (I had my brother actually build me my own organizers out of wood, but I realize not everyone is handy with wood, so I shared another great option)

IMG_1362 edited
Here’s a sampling of the paint and spray adhesive

IMG_1360 edited

Steps:

  1. The first thing you’ll want to do is clean and sand your drawers. Take the drawers out, clean and sand inside and out, and clean and sand the frame. My drawers had been sitting in my closet for quite some time, so they were pretty dusty. It’s important to sand the drawers and frame because of the plastic. The paint will stick better to plastic if it’s not completely smooth.
  2. Next, spray your primer onto the drawers and frame. I actually skipped this step because the paint I bought said it had primer in it. However, I would highly recommend going ahead and using a primer.
  3. Next you’re going to paint! I painted my drawers gray and my frame turquoise. It took me almost two full bottles of paint for each color. The clear drawers were especially hard to get a solid coat of paint on. I did this outdoors and it seemed like the bright light made every not-so-opaque patch of paint show up. However, once indoors, I couldn’t tell the difference. It all looked solid.
  4. Once the drawers are dry, you’re going to add the scrapbook paper to the inside of the drawers for a decorative touch. (You can skip this step and just paint the front of your drawers, but the end result with the paper is very cute.) First, measure and cut your paper to fit the inside front of the drawer. Then, spray the adhesive to the inside front of the drawer. Quickly, but carefully, stick your paper onto the inside of the drawer. Smooth out any wrinkles or bubbles. Your glue may look white at this time, but it will dry clear.
  5. After that, you can use the chalkboard paint to make labels on the outside of your drawers like I did, or you can use actual labels. I taped off rectangles with duct tape on the drawers to make a stencil for my chalkboard labels.

IMG_1355 edited IMG_1356 edited IMG_1357 edited

Now, once all that is done, you can either insert your drawer organizers however you like or have someone build you some like I did. 😉

Honestly, if you’re not that handy with power tools and measurements like myself, just get some organizers from Target. However, if you are handy, just pick up a sheet of thin plywood from a hardware store and cut it to your desire!

Here’s what the inside of my drawers look like. The pieces of wood are interlocking.

IMG_1347 edited
About 50 or so bottles of polish
IMG_1349 edited
Oh look! More polish! And a gel polish kit.
IMG_1351 edited
Handy nail supplies

Now you’re done!

All finished and looking cute!
All finished and looking cute!

Have any questions? Feel free to comment below! I realize I may not be the best at explaining everything, so ask as much as you need. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Don’t forget to find me on Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram!

Interested in guest posting or collaborations? Email me at gingerlifeblog@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Nail Polish Storage Drawers–DIY

Leave a Reply

