New Orleans: Mission Trip

Next week I’ll be gone on a mission trip to New Orleans. My church has gone for about 5 years now and this is my second year going. I’m so excited for the opportunities we will have down there to bring love and hope to these people! In years past we have done our work in the 9th ward, but this year we will be in the 7th ward. This ward was also damaged greatly by hurricane Katrina and the aftermath is still very real today. The kind of work we do there is part labor, part witnessing. We may paint or fix houses, we hold a VBS for the children during the day, and we feed the homeless. While it is very hot and humid down there and often we get fed/housed minimally, all of the teens and adults who come participate actively and retain their good attitudes. Experiencing the lives that these people lead on a day-to-day basis can make some of your problems seem much smaller and we know that we need to be humble and serve these people. It really is a great experience and I know that the people in the communities really love having us there. That’s the real purpose of this trip, though, to make a difference in their lives, not ours.

All that being said, obviously I will not be active on this blog during that time (23rd-27th). I will have a couple scheduled posts, but all comments or anything will be answered after I get back. I don’t want any distractions while I’m down there! My plan is to hide all my social apps away in a “folder” on my iPhone and turn off the notifications for them for the time being. I’m really going to try to stay off so I can focus on my job down there and give these people everything I can! I’ll of course have a packing post and a post about the whole trip after I return.

Thank you for reading and my team and I would greatly appreciate any prayers for our trip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

